January 26, 2015

Mondays usually suck but today was a great day. Lots of blessings in my day today, Pa clearing off my car for me in the morning, easy commute despite the snow, yummy lunch that I shared with my coworkers from Sunday night, Kale chips (see Trader Joe’s if you have no clue what these are — they’re incredible!) but Im most thankful for the opportunity to help out at Hopkins House… its essentially a housing facility for families who stay with sick children being treated at the hospital. Volunteers can come and cook dinner on site in the kitchen. The house in its capacity houses 14 families. Volunteers prepare dinner and then eat/interact with the families, sometimes children, too. For one of my favorite organizations, Maryland Association of Cytology, I wanted to schedule an event each month on a regular basis.

I spoke with the coordinator tonight and am so thankful that we were able to secure the last Saturday of every month to serve brunch! Dinners are usually popular and filled quickly but brunch is a novelty and is what they need. I’m so happy I thought of it (brunch is so much more exciting to cook!!) and am so looking forward to cooking brunch for the house once a month this whole year beginning this Saturday, January 31st.

Leave a comment